Tags

,

This is my first post. Over the past few months I have been thinking about getting a therapy animal. I was really hoping that I could train my cat, however; only dogs are recognized as therapy animals in Maryland.

A little about me. I have PTSD, depression, anxiety, and a few other diagnoses. Last year, I started to have pain all the time and realized that it was to much to just be regular pain when Advil would not work. After months of going  to doctors and tests, I got a diagnosis. That was one issue solved!! I thought great, now the doctor can give me a medication or a cure, yet what I had did not work that way. There is not a cure and apparently the pain does not get better.

The pain beings up my trauma and all of its memories. I am depressed because I cannot complete the program I wanted to because it is to physically demanding. I have become secluded and rarely leave the house. I am terrified that I am going to be reminded of past traumas or anything from the past year. I am also more hypervigilant then I have ever been. I am up all night with noises that are going on outside of the house. I constantly think that something is going to happen.

Over the past weeks, I have been researching a mental health service dog. I think that the dog would allow me to get out of the house, lessen my anxiety, help me remember my medication, and deal with my hypervigilance. The only thing that might get in my way is the financial aspect. I am hoping that there are people out there who may understand the need for a service animal and will help out with the cost.

In return, I will document my story of how the search is going, the training of the dog, and any pictures that I get will be shared. Also, I will share how my symptoms are before and after receiving the mental health service animal.

