Tags

, ,

Maybe if We All Put Our Heads Together!

Once upon a time (yes I love faerie tales) I was a science teacher to middle schoolers. For me, science is still fascinating. Fibromyalgia is not easy to live with and I am sure for researchers and doctors that it is even harder to understand.
One of the most common statements that I have heard and read about fibro is that it does not get worse. Sometimes, I wonder who writes these things or how the researchers and doctors made this conclusion. What was their sample?
I know, for me, that my illness has progressed. I am wearing a brace on both my back and my knees. My pain has gotten worse as has the numbing sensation in both my hands and my legs. My left leg is so weak that I cannot raise myself up on it.
So, once again, I had a bright idea, well an idea at least. I want to find out who completed the research and talk to them. I want to know the sample size.
Medications cannot be the only solution to fibromyalgia or those of us that have it would not feel a difference with treatments such as physical therapy, TENS, heat or cold, and acupuncture to name a few.
Fibromyalgia, or at least the diagnosis is made based on the elimination of other illnesses. What if the tests are negative because there is just not enough of whatever they are testing for in our blood? What if there is still a trace amount?
What if fibro does get worse for some people and not for others? There are other illnesses that are spectrum illnesses. Is fibro one of those?
I guess I just want to know why some of the people who I have met with fibro are working and going on with their lives, while others are moving from canes to wheelchairs. I do not think that it has to do with mindset or attitude. The patients that I have met are still fighting the battle everyday.
So maybe we all need to put our heads together and come up with a different definition. Maybe things are not as clear-cut as the medical community would like us to believe. Fibromyalgia would not be the first illness that the criteria would need to be changed on and I do not believe it will be the last!

