Be Patient

Sometimes the wait is worth it! I know it will be for a service dog. I still am not sure which service dog that I will be getting, yet I know that I am part of a group of people who love and care about dogs and how they can assist those with a disability.
Almost two months have passed since I interviewed with the organization. Since then, I have been lucky enough to meet up with the dogs on one occasion.
Even though there is a lot of time to go, I am nervous. The dog is going to need to be walked and taken care of. What if I am having a hard time? Is that why he/she will be there? Give and take. He/She will help me get out of bed and in turn we can both take a walk and get out of the house.
Then, I am worried how my friends and family are going to accept a dog coming into their homes. I know that my friends and family are supportive, yet a 70 lb dog is something else!!
As hard as it is to wait, I know that the wait will be worth it and I will be ready.

7 thoughts on “Be Patient

  1. i been there, talk with your family and friends about you getting a service dog, what it means to you, how the sd will help you. once you and your sd become a team, takes time, hard work, and lots of love. treats to help make the bonding, grooming walking, feeding. all good things, try not to worry too much about it. time is on your side, if your family and friends are supportive, trust them, and things will work out okay. the size of the dog does not matter really, my sd, lizzy is 48 pounds, and for some people it is okay and others it is not. yes, it is a give a take. during your waiting time, read up on some service dog organizations. cci, ecads, neads…get a better understanding. hang in there, the wait is worth it. leslie and lizzy

  2. Hi. Don’t worry too much about taking care of your dog. Dogs are pretty adaptable. If there are days you can’t go for long walks they will adjust. If you truly think you won’t be able to take care of the basics, such as potty runs, see if you can line up a friend or family member for back up. You may never need their help, but knowing it’s there will help give you peace of mind. You’ll also be surprised what sorrowful, big, brown eyes, will motivate you to get up and do. Relax, enjoy, and give them lots of love. They’ll adore you.

Leave a Reply

