Ever since January, I have been looking forward to getting a service dog. I could walk better and was less anxious with the dog, not to mention all of the other symptoms that he would be able to help with.

My husband tried to get a loan. We just learned last night that it would be to much.

I am upset about the loan, yet I guess that I was naive. I really thought that friends and family would help out during this time. I realize that everyone is stressed financially, but a couple of dollars would have gone a long way. Helping me, would have helped not only me but my family. My kids were so excited that I could walk better.

A page had been set up for donations. Apparently, not a single person gave. It makes me feel invisible. A service dog is not covered by insurance, yet is not a luxury if it improves your quality of life. I hope that one day insurance changes. Maybe another person will not have to go without help!

4 thoughts on “Disappointed

  1. I’m so sorry to hear that Jenn. I kept hoping I could surprise you with a way to help you raise money, but with no success yet, I want to let you know of how many things I have looked up in an attempt to help you raise money for your service dog. I looked into Pampered chef but you need to be a registered charity or have certain tax benefits like schools. I looked into a raffle to help you raise money but the state of MD doesn’t make it easy unless you are a school or similar. I wanted to give you the few dollars toward the dog but thought I’d wait and the scrapbook would be of more use between now and the time when you do get the service dog. 🙂 I’m still trying to think of ways but I keep hitting roadblocks. There has to be some way!

  2. Can you get a dog and train him yourself? My ptsd service dog came from the humane society. the previous owner had already done a ton of training. it was almost as if he had already been trained to be a service dog. I don’t know his history, I guess it’s possible? (I hope not. hate to think someone lost their service dog.) If you can train him to do things that help your symptoms, he is a service dog and meanwhile, you can keep training him or get a trainer to donate time and services perhaps? just a thought. (and I know how amazingly lucky I was to find luca. I know it’s not often one comes across an already partially trained luca, but odder things have happened. I am proof it’s possible.) Maybe a local trainer would be willing to keep going to the humane society with you till you find the right one? Maybe the local newspaper would write a story about your dog and the trainer and that free publicity would be enough to get a local trainer to donate their time?

    I hope you find a way for this to work out. Luca and I would be lost without each other. be.

Leave a Reply

