***MAY TRIGGER, TRIGGER WARNING**

This week is a holiday week. I am more than a little stressed that I am not speaking to my parents and that I will not see my kids until Easter evening. Needless to say, my anxiety has kicked up a few notches.

Yesterday morning, I woke up with chest pains and shortness of breath. I waited for a little while and then decided that I needed to go to the ER to get checked out. My husband was kind enough to drive me and come in with me until he had to leave for class.

6:00 am Get to the ER. Triaged. Bands put on and insurance information taken.

7:00 am  Taken back to the room to be seen. The nurse came in and asked me where I was hurting, how long it had been going on, pain scale, and all of the other questions that she needed to ask. A student nurse came in and began asking me questions from what looked like a booklet. Some were about the chest pain, others related to my mental health.

That is where I made the mistake that would turn the rest of the day upside down  and have the staff focused on my mental health and not my physical ailment that brought me into the ER in the first place.

After 8:00am O

 

The doctor

Leave a Reply

