It seems like only yesterday that my kids were little. They wanted me to get them lunch, read them stories, check for monsters under the bed, and help them out.  Sometimes there were nightmares at night or a drink of water. All I seemed to hear was mom.

Last year was hard. Due to my mental illness, I almost lost having weekends with my kids. Over the year, they grew and matured and I was not there for it.

I am happy to say that today I see my kids again. They have grown so much and can do almost everything on their own. For the most part, they do not need any help. They even entertain themselves. I need to get used to this. At least they still want a hug goodnight. Just not a story. 

I know that one day, not to long from now, they will be able to decide if they want to see me. They will be driving and going off on their own. That is scary!! I can only hope that the bond that I have with them is strong enough to push through and stand the test of time.

Leave a Reply

