Yesterday, I shared that I was uncomfortable touching other classmates for an assignment in one of my classes. I talked to the department head and the class instructor who were both on board and even offered accommodations.

When I arrived at class, I was apprehensive. Would this instructor really understand. Not only did she understand my issue, but she also had an alternative activity already planned for me. What a relief to know that I had a choice.

What came next shocked me! I actually wanted to participate in the activity after the class had already done some of the other activities. I participated and it was my choice. It was not the most comfortable, yet I was so proud of myself for trying. In the end, I overcame one of my worst fears.

This does not change that I don’t really liked to be touched. It does open up the discussion in therapy for being more comfortable around people that I know are safe for me to be around.

Leave a Reply

