I am doing the local NAMI walk for the first time this year. My goal was $50. I thought that people would donate $5. I had donated to other people fundraisers before. 

Boy, was I wrong. Apparently, mental health is like the plague. I am not sure if people think it is a choice or that they will catch it, but they want to get as far away as possible.

Things always change when someone around them is diagnosed or even worse they turn their backs on that person. Maybe, I will not raise the money, yet I am still going to walk. The walk means so much to me. NAMI has given me a way for me to tell my story.

I am also walking for all of those who lost their battle with mental illness and those who count on the support groups for assistance. Change is always slow!! One day this will be accepted. For now, I can accept those around me and support them.

One thought on “Any Other Illness

Leave a Reply

