My kids have come to the end of another school year. They are looking forward to playing in the pool and other outside activities. Also, they are already planning sleepovers and days with their friends.

Life was different for me. We did not have a pool. The inside of the house was hotter than the outside because I was not allowed to turn on the air conditioning. My room was so hot at night that I really could not sleep.

Then there were the monsters that I lived with. The ones who would beat me until I though that they would not stop. The ones who would put me down. All I wanted to do was to get back to school. At least there I knew what was expected of me.

One thought on “Summer Break

  1. People really don’t know or care what marks they leave on you … and I’m talking about the kind that doesn’t require ever laying a hand on you.

Leave a Reply

