When my children were born, I knew that they would one day grow up and leave home. I thought that would be for a career or for college. Life took a turn and I was divorced and lost custody of my kids before I knew it. 

Even though I have visitation, they live far enough away that I do not know their friends or much about their lives other than what they tell me. I am able to get to a few sports events and school events per year. 

My oldest is a teenager. He has not turned 16 yet and will not for a while. His father is allowing him to decide whether or not he sees me on my weekends when I am supposed to have him. I wished that he was little and I could have his father’s support to make him come. That is not the case. He is as tall as me with a mind of his own.

I still have two other children who need me. They miss their brother when he is not here. I am beginning to wonder how much longer that I have with them. 

It hurts to see other parents post things and discuss their children. I wish that I could be a “normal” mom, yet I can only do as much as I can. 

2 thoughts on “Letting Go

  1. I’m so sad that you are going through this. I remember when I grew up to be that age I chose not to see my dad. I went through a very angry stage as a teenager because of everything. I now live within driving distance of my dad and things are mending. I know this may not help, but your son really will see that he needs both of you guys. It took me awhile but now I see what I missed out by not including my dad in my life. Its so good to hear how you are making an effort!!

Leave a Reply

