Tags

, ,

The topic of movies was brought up at a party that I was at yesterday. A recently released movie was brought up and the storyline could negatively impact those people who went through a certain experience.

I had to stay quiet. All I could think about was the fact that I have PTSD from childhood trauma. Did they know how many movies depicted child abuse, neglect, and other atrocities. Not only movies that were made years ago, but movies that are made and relaeased today.

What is different about movies from life is that we can choose not to see them. No one is forcing anyone to see a movie that may trigger them. I know that I have to read the movie description or have read the book to know whether or not I will feel comfortable seeing a movie.

I do not know if I will ever see the movie they were discussing. I was not interested in seeing it before then. Movies can be violent and topics can be thrown in your face at the movies. Yet, they are a choice! 

