Tags

, , ,

I woke up this morning and like everyone else saw that Donald Trump had won the election. I try to stay out of politics as much as possible. 

This is different. He wants to take away the rights of groups that have fought for rights for years. Women, mentally ill, minorities, and other people who do not fit his idea of America. I am concerned by what freedoms will be taken away from us. How will we be treated when the acceptance disappears slowly before us.

The only thing that I can do is to take it one day at a time and to fight where I can. E-mails, phone calls, letters: anything to make a person take a second look at what their decision really means.

Today, I am truly worried for people. Do we have to go back into hiding and go behind closed doors. Are we going to be put into institutions because we are different or denied service.

Please, for those of you who are in any category that Trump deems “wrong” support each other. It is the only way that we are all going to get through this. By becoming one voice and standing up for one another we have power.

