I have been asked what my New Year’s Resolution is this year. The honest answer is that I do not have one. For me, I take one day at a time anymore. I never know who is not going to be here the next day or if my kids will talk to me.

My PTSD is better some days than others. There are anniversaries that I know I will need to deal with and things that come out of the blue that suddenly bring up a vivid memory. School will most likely start out ok and then spiral downhill to where I barely have the energy and mental push to take my final exams.

My weight is an issue. I overeat and then I do not eat depending on the time of year and type of stress. Sometimes I need to maintain my weight, other times I need to add weight, and still others I could lose a couple of pounds. Which one it will be is constantly changing.

I want to be a part of my families and friends lives. Some of that is up to them. First I have to be invited, then I can choose to accept or decline. 

So, no, I do not have a specific resolution. I know that I have court this month and I want to get through that. School will start in a few weeks and I want to be ready for that also. There are a few shows and movies that I would like to see as well. Those are what I am starting with. Small goals, not a big resolution.

Leave a Reply

