A genogram. One simple word with so many complex issues. Normally, people in therapy are asked to do them. Often they help to explain relationships and issues. I have not been encouraged to do one. In fact, I have been discouraged. My family is part of the reason that I have PTSD. I do not want to go delving into something that I know will upset me. This semester has not even been over a week and I am already overwhelmed.

I need to complete the assignment, yet I do not want to take a close look at my family. Maybe I will try to start it and take it to therapy this week. Another part of me wants to email my professor and explain things. Then I think about the fact that he will most likely not care about my issues. 

A guided tour through hell. That is what I feel like I am getting with some of these assignments. Tomorrow is another day of new adventures. Hopefully they will not be nightmares.

One thought on “From Impossible to Possible

  1. That’s really difficult 😦 Maybe you could suggest to your tutor that instead of doing a genogram for yourself, you do one for a friend who isn’t on your course… then you’re still practising the skill without causing unnecessary stress. Good luck x

Leave a Reply

