I want to become a Social Worker. Even more  specific an advocate. A voice for someone who may not be able to speak up for whatever reason. This all began around 5-6 years ago when I started standing up for people that I was hospitalized with and then began to want to make a larger change. Policy changes.

Right now, I am in school. It is frustrating in some ways. I have a degree along with some other other education, yet that degree is not a BSW. I wish that colleges gave credit for life experience. I am pretty sure that I would not have had to take two of my classes this semester. I like the classes, it is just that the information presented are theories and practices that I am already familiar with.

This is where the frustration comes in. Why can I not be out there practicing? Why do I need a BSW? It really is only three letters. I have completed research in the past and I have interned in some of the same places that are available to intern as a social worker. Are those three letters going to make me any better at interacting with those that need assistance. Are they going to change my motivation for wanting to work with people and make their lives better. What are those letters going to do for me. Sure, my resume will have them on there and an employer can see them. All they mean is that I have a degree. Sometimes, I feel like I already have the degree. I have been in hospitals with patients. As an intern, I have worked with children who have questions to be addressed. I have seen elderly patients who need a higher level of care. I have seen drug addicted mothers who need treatment and a place that accepts them. In fact, I helped them. Three  letters!

So why should I have to wait. Because for some reason, having those three letters behind one’s name suddenly makes all of the difference in an employers eyes. Even an MSW program prefers those three letters. Personally, I would prefer the person with experience and empathy. The person who can get down in the trenches and hear the stories that make others cringe and know what to do. Unfortunately, that is not the way that the world works!!

2 thoughts on “The End Goal

  1. Education and licensing is a broken system and is often meaningless right now. I understand we need a way to see who is qualified but this is not the way. I completely agree that I have seen way more qualified and capable people with the knowledge, skills and empathy, but lacking those required letters or documents and so the right people are often held back due to time, money or other restrictions from making a difference. The degrees are designed to be profitable to universities, not to best benefit society. I would love to jump in and start making money in fields I am passionate about, but it seems impossible to even get started on another degree when I am still paying for the first. It must be so frustrating to be in those classes and know you already know that material. I am cheering for you for being there and moving towards your goal, even in a broken system. You can do it!

Leave a Reply

