I cannot believe that it is already August. School is going to start for me in less than a month. I am so nervous about my memory issues and my social fears. As I always write, I will take it one day at a time and keep the blog up to date.

We just returned from a camping trip with the kids. We had an air conditioned cabin and it was only a short walk to the bathroom, store, and pool. That was good for me since I cannot walk very far without pain and fatigue. The kids liked playing in the pool, building campfires, and using the porch swing. This was the first time that we have all been away together.

Therapy is going ok. I wish that I could get more accomplished in one hour than I do. Somehow I feel like there is so much more to say. I am worried that there are issues that are going to arise in field placement this fall. I guess that is why I have weekly appointments. I am going to need them to deal with all of the personal issues that will arise. Funny, social workers always discuss secondary trauma. What if you already have PTSD? Is the experience different?

July was a good month to relax. This month I am attempting to make social, biological, and social charts for each stage of development. I want something to refer to to write reports for clinical and papers for class. I am taking it slowly and should be finished by the beginning of the semester.

Just a question for anyone to respond too. Are there any books that anyone would recommend for teens who are having a rough time. It would be great if the books referenced an oppressed or minority population. I want to have some suggestions to run past my field supervisor for the kids that I will be working with.

My husband graduated with his Master’s in math and is going to begin teaching this semester. I am so excited that his dream of becoming a college professor is coming true. I saw how hard he worked and what it is going to take to get my Masters degree. I hope I have the mental stamina to keep up with the pace!!

Tomorrow begins the first official on campus step of the semester. I need to go to the disability office to meet with an advisor to determine what modifications that I will need for the upcoming semester. I am scared, yet I know that they will assist me in being able to do my best in all of my classes. It will be the first time that I have driven to the campus on my own as well. I am nervous about driving in the area and easily get lost. I am hoping that I find parking and get to the building without incident.

Here’s to a new beginning this year. Thanks for following. I will try to blog at least every other day until school starts. Then it will most likely be everyday!

Leave a Reply

